L’Arc de Triomphe

Monument & Heritage Always Open Check location

Turning its back to the district of L’Ecusson, it was built in 1691, by Francois d’Orbay, in honor of Louis XIV. Arc de Triopmhe is part of the architectural set of the Promenade du Peyrou to which it faces, and of which it was originally the gate.

It is composed of bas-relief representing different stages of the reign of the Roi Soleil (Louis XIV): the end of the digging of the Canal du Midi, the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, the capture of Namur.

Today, the Arc de Triomphe seems to be outside of the Promenade du Peyrou, of which it will always be the gate. 103 steps to climb to discover one of the most beautiful views of Montpellier and its surroundings.

Contacts & Details

1 Rue Foch 34000 Montpellier