Igreja de São João Evangelista

Monument & Heritage Check location

Built in 1657 as a residential palace, in 1704 the chapel of the palace was transformed into a conventual temple. During the 18th century several decorative methods were added, such as paintings, tiles, woodwork and sculptures.

The convent, in 1905, was almost destroyed since there were constructions happening to expand the main square. The façade is stunning. The interior of the church is decorated in gilded woodwork, covering the ceilings and walls in Baroque, Rococo, and proto-Baroque styles. Since 1910 it is classified as a National Monument.

Contacts & Details

Praça do Marquês de Pombal 3810-133 Aveiro