Donjon et Remparts d’Aigues-Mortes

Monument & Heritage Check location

The fortifications of Aigues-Mortes constitute a remarkably preserved military complex, at the height of Gothic architecture. The vaulted ceilings on sculpted capitals, the gargoyles, the refinement of the decors of the tower of Constance, contrast with the strength of the defensive system of the wall sections.

Built between 1272 and 1300 near the tower of Constance, the ramparts are spread over a length of 1600 meters. They are the wish of Louis IX.

In its day, the city was connected by canal to the Mediterranean: Saint Louis is thus the first king of France to benefit from a port in the south of the kingdom. It was from there that he left for the Crusades in 1248 and 1270. Gradually covered in sand, Aigues-Mortes transformed his towers into prisons.

After the revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685, the Protestants were imprisoned there. From the top of the ramparts or from the terrace of the donjon, you will discover a striking spectacle on the Camargue and its salterns whose colors alternate from blue to purple.

Contacts & Details

Remparts d'Aigues-Mortes 30220 Aigues-Mortes