Convento de Santo António dos Capuchos

Monument & Heritage Check location

This stunning historic building has gone through two distinct phases. Built in 1562 by the Mendicant Friars of St. Francis, it was established as a convent by Fernando de Menezes on the orders of the Commendator of the Order of Christ.

It was then rebuilt after the earthquake of 1755. Secondly, it was the Misericórdia Hospital of Guimarães from the year 1842.

The current building dates back to the 18th century and has a Mannerist style. Currently, it is the home of the Castelo Branco Infantry Regiment.

As you explore this building, pay close attention to the cloister, the 19th century monochrome ornamental painting and the noble staircase which is lined with exquisite blue and white tiles.

These days the convent houses a museum, which was founded by the Holy House of Mercy in 2008 and is dedicated to preserving the cultural and artistic heritage of the city.

Contacts & Details

Rua Dr. Joaquim de Meira 4800 Guimarães